Parent Portal
Book A Tour
Apply Now

NBCS Students Take Home 2020 STANSW Young Scientist Awards

Nov 19, 2020

Congratulations to Primary students Lachlan Murnain, Annabelle Green and Secondary student Michael Eksteen for being prize winners in the 2020 STANSW Young Scientist Awards.


Lachlan and Annabelle received awards for the category: STANSW Scientific Investigations.
Lachlan’s project was titled, “Mind the Gap”. He investigated how accurate people estimate the 1.5m gap to comply with social distancing rules. He took into account the age and height of the participants, collected thorough data using a 100 participant sample size, to ensure accuracy. He successfully drew conclusions by graphing his results, making recommendations for future application. He received an award in the Mathematical Investigation category.

Anabelle’s project was titled “Culturing Clean Classrooms and Clearing the Colonies”. She researched bacterial growth on our “high-touch” classroom equipment and whether anti-bacterial wipes make any difference to the bacteria-colony growth. She also researched types of bacteria cultures and their ideal growth conditions. Anabelle won first place in the Scientific Investigations category.

Michael’s project, Investigating the Thermodynamics of a Combustion Engine, was selected from over 800 submissions and is a reflection of his dedication to the study of Physics.

Established in 1992, the STANSW Young Scientist Awards is a major project of the Science Teachers’ Association of New South Wales (STANSW) and headed up by a 15-member committee representing all sectors of education. The scheme aims to stimulate curiosity through inquiry to undertake innovative investigations. Informed by the world of Science, Mathematics and Technology, students are encouraged to find creative solutions to everyday problems to make our lives better. The Young Scientist Award Scheme is a NSW syllabus based K to 12 STEM initiative.



Recent Posts